14 comments on “Tool: Compare VMware snapshots

  1. Pingback: Security News » Jak porównać snapshoty z VMware

  2. Found your tool. Great stuff for checking memory changes.

    The thing that is missing for me are the file system changes. I tried your tool on the *.vmdk files, but this does not work. Looking at the files with a hex editor gives no useable strings.

    Can you help?

  3. I am looking for a tool that can summerize all changes on a file system that an installation makes.

    The idea is to start with a virgin snapshot. Then I want to install the software and take a new snapshot right after that. By comparing the filesystems of the two snapshots, the result is a diff that contains all new installed files.

    I hope this gives you enough information.

  4. Hi Arthur.
    I understand what you want to do but we should know the specific structure of a vmdk file. At the moment I have no idea about it, that’s the problem.

  5. Do you have an updated version of the VMWare snapshot program. When I try to run on a VMWare 7.1 snapshot the program crashes. Also I would like to just find all strings not just the onew you filtered on because I don’t know the name of the file I’m looking for.

  6. What about Arthur’s questions?

    am looking for a tool that can summerize all changes on a file system that an installation makes.

    The idea is to start with a virgin snapshot. Then I want to install the software and take a new snapshot right after that. By comparing the filesystems of the two snapshots, the result is a diff that contains all new installed files.

    I hope this gives you enough information.

    Are there any tools which can compare file systems on two snapshots taken at different times?

  7. Hi, its really nice tool, would appreciate if any one can tell me about other tools that can compare registry, file system and memory than give a difference report between two snapshots.

  8. Hi,

    Need some help regarding the RAM acquisition, when you take the snapshot of the RAM within the VMware, does it only show the processes running for the VMware O/S or does it also include the processes of the source O/S.

    I am currenlty working on an the idea to isolate the RAM processes of VMware O/S for further comparison with different tools which change the RAM processes. As I need to develop a baseline which can help me distinguish the virgin RAM processes.

    If you have any idea please share. This post really gave me hope to further my research.

    Thanks.

  9. Pingback: ComputerForum-Welt ist ein Forum in dem User bei Fragen und Problemen zum Computer austauschen koennen.

Leave a Reply

